Home > Uncategorized > Cisco ASA: Upgrade ASDM image the manly way

Cisco ASA: Upgrade ASDM image the manly way

I’ll be honest. I came from an all Fortigate shop, and the last real hardcore Cisco work I did was on a PIX.

Since it’s been like six years, I figured I’d doc the very simple procedure to upgrade the ASDM image on an ASA.

A highly intelligent folk who quality checked a refurbed ASA 5505 before shipping as a warranty replacement thought… “hey, I’ll upgrade the IOS, but not upgrade the ASDM.” Since I’m hardcore and don’t bother with the ASDM, only CLI, I didn’t worry about it before certifying a config as good before release. Well, god dang it, we need the ASDM! Alas, I found an awesome troubleshooting page on Cisco’s site, and realized that I may have to upgrade the ASDM image. So, here’s how.

1) Get your version information with the following:

sh ver
#Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance Software Version 8.2(5)55
#Device Manager Version 5.2(3) <=== this is not listed as compatible

2) Take a gander at the ASA/ASDM compatibility matrix.

The ASA version I'm running is listed as being compatible with "ASDM 6.3(4) and later. Recommended: 7.4(2)."

3) download the image by searching this annoying site (just use IE, trust me)

3) grab a tftp server app and copy the .bin to the served directory (try tftpd64)

4) copy the image up to the flash

copy tftp flash
#server is: 10.8.6.145
#source & destination filename is: asdm-742.bin

5) verify the presence of the image

show disk
#.... asdm-742.bin

6) show the existing asdm image

sh run asdm
#asdm image disk0:/asdm-523.bin

6) assign the new image:

asdm image disk0:/asdm-742.bin
wr mem

7) reboot

reload
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

