Home > Uncategorized > Huginn, the self-hosted, secure, automation tool for stuff

Huginn, the self-hosted, secure, automation tool for stuff

Huginn’s author states it to be “a light-weight infrastructure for building data-gathering and data-reacting tasks for your everyday life. Think of it as an open source Yahoo! Pipes, IFTTT, or Zapier.”

I finally am hopping onto the “activity tracker” craze with a recent purchase of the Jawbone UP24 (waiting for the Basis to get better and awaiting Samsung’s Gear Fit), and would love to use the data to automate a workflow.

I saw If this then that (IFTTT) about a year ago, and thought that it was way too… well.. scary. I mean, to have my UP data stored on Jawbone’s servers is enough to make me shiver, but then to use a third third party to take my “private” UP data and dump it to a Google Doc (which would require IFTTT to have access to both of those things in a non-restrictive way) is just too much.

Luckily, tonight some good fellow posted Huginn to Hacker News. Looks like a great way to keep automated workflows private. And maybe, when I have the time, I can work on storing Jawbone data as I wish.

Did I mention that you can, of course, write your own Huginns agents?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

