Home > Uncategorized > Taxes, inference, downloading.

Taxes, inference, downloading.

Okay. So I lasted about three days without posting, but I came across a few things that are very worth sharing, but aren’t quite worthy of a page.

Taxes:
Someone posted a link to DARPA sponsored projects to Hacker News yesterday. This should squelch that useless obsession I have with predictive analysis of non-existent data I have for the week. Specifically: lineup, lyra, immens, and…

Inference:
BayesDB is a project that allows you to import data from CSV and provides a query language to query that data. Oh… it also uses Bayesian analysis to make predictions (within a tolerance) of future data. But we can already do some of this with scipy.stats.bayes_mvs()… but you can’t do it this simply.

Read more about it here. I have a feeling the next societal learning experience will be statistical literacy (previously computer literacy), and BayesDB is an effort that will assist. Don’t forget NimbleText and OpenRefine. Here is a paper on using Bayesian inference on network traffic.

Downloading:
I was disappointed to see offliberty failed to download a mix from soundcloud and mixcloud. I even wrote offliberty a bug report, and… received nothing back. After scratching my chin, I remembered my man SZ had written a last.fm downloader, and I figured I’d check in on the project. I was excited to see that not only does his last.fm downloader download from soundcloud and mixcloud, but about 20 other sites as well. Unfortunately, mixcloud downloading failed, so I dropped him an Email. He responded within a few hours, and offered that mixcloud changed their webapp and he would give reprogramming his scraper a shot. It took him two days and he was able to solve the problem today. So go grab Free Music Downloader from SZ. Don’t forget to donate.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

