Home > Uncategorized > VMware sent me the source code to 5.1.0U1 as requested

VMware sent me the source code to 5.1.0U1 as requested

So, a few weeks ago I sent a letter to VMware requesting the source for ESXi 5.1.0U1 as stated on their site that any user who would like it should.

VMware’s law department creeped a little on my LinkedIn profile, I then received a call from a VMware lawyer a few days later. I explained the truth… I’m just a dude, trying to build a driver that isn’t supported. I just wanted the source so I could properly build the driver. I’m not looking to resell or reverse engineer… just some dude. He forwarded me to their driver project manager who followed up (within two days) with a call. I never followed up.

Today, I received “the source code” on a CD. Very impressive customer service.

Dear Matt,

In response to your request, please find enclosed a CD containing the source code corresponding to the binaries for the open source components and modifications of those components distributed in VMware ESXi 5.1 Update 1.

Sincerely,
VMware
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

