Home > Uncategorized > Hackers in my network.

Hackers in my network.

I had a dream the other night after one too many whiskeys with the brother-in-law.

I was in what appeared to be a business, but it reminded me of my high school computer lab, CRTs and all.

I most definitely was responsible for the entire network.

I began to see input on a terminal screen (sorry, mono-chrome white, not green or amber) that appeared to be file copy jobs.
I killed the copy process. Then it appeared on all of the other computers.

I then killed the process again.

I typed “Who’s this?” into the terminal.
The terminal typed back “Hi! Sorry about this.”

Then they started the copy job again. I killed the copy. They started the copy again. Repeat maybe 10 times.

I gave up, walked away. Told my wife (who was there for some reason) “We’re being hacked… Sorry can’t talk right now. In fact, I don’t know what to do.”

I physically stopped in my tracks, took a deep breathe and thought the following:
1) Oh my god. I can’t do this. I can’t stop these guys. I can’t stop the data leak.
2) Oh my god. I’m going to get fired, because I can’t stop these guys.
3) Oh my god. wait… Hey… kill the firewall. Unplug the network cables from the machines. Damn it. I’m going to have the wipe the machines, that is going to take a lot of time.

Then I woke up in a cold sweat, took a deep breathe. Thought to myself, “thank god that was just a dream. I guess that was actually a nightmare.” Stumbled to the kitchen to grab some water, then went back to sleep.

argus wasn’t present. :(

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

