Home > Uncategorized > Use awk to find a string within a string, and just that string

Use awk to find a string within a string, and just that string

I’ve spent way too long to figure out the following:

echo "hello. RETURN STUFF AFTER ME i get returned RETURN STUFF BEFORE ME my face is melting" | .\gnucoreutils\bin\awk "{startstring = \"RETURN STUFF AFTER ME \"; endstring = \" RETURN STUFF BEFORE ME\"; endofstartstring = index($0,startstring)+length(startstring); print substr($0,endofstartstring,index($0,endstring)-endofstartstring)}" /dev/stdin

Returns:

i get returned

I am using gnuwin32’s awk.

I posted this as an answer on stackoverflow.

I feel this will prove to be one of the most useful things I think I’ll ever do in my entire life.

Reference:

Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

