Home > Uncategorized > Cell Phones: Sprint Employee Referral Offer (SERO)…

Cell Phones: Sprint Employee Referral Offer (SERO)…

I posted on XDA-Developers looking to see if anyone knows a vendor that sells the HTC Vogue, aka the CDMA version of the Touch, with the HTC ROM; also if I can use it on Verizon. The responses did not provide me with an answer to either question; however, I did find out that Verizon sucks, and Sprint is “the shit.”

Why? How about 500 minutes for $30/month? Oh wait… that’s right, that’d be 500 minutes with unlimited data. Allow me to repeat myself: UNLIMITED data + 500 minutes for $30/month. How? SERO, the Sprint employee referral offer, allows you to enter a Sprint employee’s Email address and have access to their special plans.

Concerned about data speed? DSLReports Mobile Bandwidth test reports, on average, Sprint is faster than VZW.

I just spent a lot of money on an HTC S730. I should have just waited and bought the Touch. Well… I can still get a “free” Samsung M300, and use Bluetooth Dial-up networking for $30/month.

[UPDATE]
A commenter pointed out that “[they’re] pretty sure SERO plans don’t include Bluetooth Internet sharing.” Data tethering may or may not be a violation of Sprints terms of service; but, if you have experience with tethering, or bluetooth “tethering,” you know that you know that data tethering (especially by bluetooth) requires device support; and even if it violates a carrier’s TOS, as long as you stay with in the allotted monthly bandwidth limits (5GB for most 3G carriers, including Sprint) you’re pretty “safe” to do it.

  1. June 21, 2008 at 2:55 am

    I’m pretty sure SERO plans don’t include Bluetooth Internet sharing.

  2. matt
    June 21, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Well… I haven’t verified this… but that’s really up to the device. It may violate TOS. Good point. I’ll update the article with the advice.

  3. June 21, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Yeah, it’s hard to say, I haven’t tried it either. It’s definitely against TOS though. I’d rather not risk losing my ridiculously amazing plan, it’s probably the only thing keeping me with Sprint.

  4. matt
    June 21, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    Yes, I agree. I would have gone with VZW if it weren’t for this plan.…neither can I verify it is actually against TOS. Although it probably is.

  5. June 22, 2008 at 3:42 am

    I’ve had Sprint for about 6-7 years now and I’ve had this plan for 1 or 2. I get pretty poor reception in my house. I’m really looking forward to Google’s Android though.I searched the TOS text for ‘bluetooth’ and found the following:“Services are not available for use in connection with server devices or host computer applications, other systems that drive continuous heavy traffic or data sessions, or as substitutes for private lines or frame relay connections. Except with phone-as-modem plans, you may not use a phone (including a Bluetooth phone) on a plan with unlimited Vision/Power Vision as a modem in connection with a computer, PDA, or similar device. We reserve the right to deny or terminate service without notice for any misuse.”

  6. matt
    June 29, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Which device do you have? Android is kickin around on the internets at < HREF="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=2084090" REL="nofollow">XDA-Devs<>.

  7. June 30, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    That’s pretty awesome. I just have a Sanyo M1, so that won’t cut it. I’m ready for a change!

  8. matt
    June 30, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    I just did this (SERO) last week and it worked out fine. I got the Touch… but if I was you… I’d wait until the Touch Pro (aka HTC Raphael) comes to Sprint and get that instead. The Touch is awesome.

  9. June 30, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    That’s exactly what I’m waiting for. Well, unless something else with Android works out first. Did you see that the Touch Pro got FCC approval today?

  10. matt
    July 11, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Yea, Android. You commented and then I removed it because you commented to yourself, which you commented on. I also removed the comment where you commented it on how you commented on your own comment.< HREF="http://it029000.massey.ac.nz/vogue/" REL="nofollow">Android<> is “out” for the Touch/Vogue and is completely safe to run (it runs within the WM environment).Touch Pro is rediculous, but is liable to be $700.

  11. July 11, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Sorry about that :(Have you tried it on your Touch?I would imagine the Pro will be somewhat reasonable with rebates since it should be replacing the Mogul.

  12. matt
    July 11, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    That’s a good point. I guess I’m imagining that Sprint will try to ream the first adopters with horrendous cost. But hopefully they won’t.

  13. matt
    July 11, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Oh yea… I did try it on my Touch. Pretty cool. It’s not built (literally, as in building code) to work as a replacement, but built to be run in the WM environment through Haret, which is a WM program that is a linux bootloader. phew…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

