Home > Uncategorized > Windows: How to turn off the firewall… for serious.

Windows: How to turn off the firewall… for serious.

Windows, I hate you.

I spent over 6 hours yesturday trying to figure out why I couldn’t ping my machine. I did everything known to man kind, except one thing. Disable the Windows Firewall and Internet Connection Sharing service. Sure enough, come 2AM, this did it. I could ping away.

So next time you’re befuddled as to why, even though your Windows firewall is set to off or on and you’re allowing ICMP packets, you get no ping responses… just remember the Windows firewall isn’t off. I guess it was just joking.

Update:
Other things to check:

  • IPSec settings
  • McAfee anti-virus port blocking
  • Other firewalls (yes, check these too)
  • Rebuild your TCP/IP stack
  • Your sanity at the door. bah dah dah
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

